Australian Holidays

Public Holidays

Australia has quite a few public holidays for different special occasions. These holidays can be either National or State based. Each State can choose whether they celebrate the occasion on the day, or whether they change the public holiday to the following Monday or previous Monday for eg. in 2013 Australia Day is on a Saturday, so all States deemed Monday 28 January to be the public holiday. Each State can change their holidays so please double check at the State Government sites to ensure the dates are correct.

2013

Date

Day

Holiday

State

1 January Tuesday New Year’s Day National
26 January Saturday Australia Day National
28 January Monday Australia Day Holiday National
4 March Monday Labour Day Western Australia
11 March Monday Adelaide Cup Day South Australia
11 March Monday Labour Day Victoria
11 March Monday Eight Hour Day Tasmania
11 March Monday Canberra Day Australia Capital Territory
29 March Friday Easter – Good Friday National
1 April Monday Easter Monday National
25 April Thursday ANZAC Day National
6 May Monday May Day Northern Territory
3 June Monday Western Australia Day Western Australia
10 June Monday Queen’s Birthday All states except Western Australia
5 August Monday Bank Holiday (only for banks
and select financial
institutions)
New South Wales and
Australian Capital Territory
14 August Wednesday Royal Queensland Show Queensland (Brisbane only)
30 September Monday Queen’s Birthday Western Australia
30 September Monday Family and Community Day Australian Capital Territory
7 October Monday Labour Day Australia Capital Territory, Queensland,
New South Wales and South Australia
5 November Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day Victoria
25 December Wednesday Christmas Day National
26 December Thursday Boxing Day National

 

2014

Date

Day

Holiday

State

1 January Wednesday New Year’s Day National
26 January Sunday Australia Day National
27 January Monday Australia Day Holiday National
3 March Monday Labour Day Western Australia
10 March Monday Adelaide Cup Day South Australia
10 March Monday Labour Day Victoria
10 March Monday Eight Hour Day Tasmania
10 March Monday Canberra Day Australian Capital Territory
18 April Friday Easter – Good Friday National
21 April Monday Easter Monday National
25 April Friday ANZAC Day National
5 May Monday May Day Northern Territory
2 June Monday Western Australia Day Western Australia
9 June Monday Queen’s Birthday All states except Western Australia
4 August Monday Bank Holiday (only for banks
and select financial
institutions)
New South Wales and
Australian Capital Territory
13 August Wednesday Royal Queensland Show Queensland (Brisbane area only)
29 September Monday Queen’s Birthday Western Australia
29 September Monday Family and Community Day Australian Capital Territory
6 October Monday Labour Day Australian Capital Territory, Queensland,
New South Wales and South Australia
4 November Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day Victoria
25 December Thursday Christmas Day National
26 December Friday Boxing Day National